måndag 23 juni 2008

Welcome... and talking about swedes in hockey

Well, I've just started this blog and don't know exactly what it will be about - it might seem like it's all over the place. But, as they say, you should write about what you know and I believe I can say a few words about the game of hockey.

First off, while swedish people have been successful in many different sports for a while now, it feels natural to me to to talk about those hockey players that have won the Stanley Cup as players.

Let's mention those players that came close, but didn't win it all - or haven't won it all yet...

Anders Hedberg and Ulf Nilsson with New York Rangers in 1979
Kent-Erik Andersson with Minnesota North Stars in 1981
Thomas Gradin (first in playoff scoring on his team) and Lars Molin with Vancouver Canucks in 1982
Pelle Lindbergh and Thomas Eriksson with Philadelphia Flyers in 1985
Pelle Eklund with the Flyers in 1987
Ulf Dahlen with the North Stars in 1991
Johan Garpenlöv with Florida Panthers in 1996
Mikael Renberg with the Flyers in 1997
Calle Johansson with Washington Capitals in 1998
Niclas Hävelid with Mighty Ducks of Anaheim in 2003
Marcus Nilson with Calgary Flames in 2004
Dick Tärnström with Edmonton Oilers in 2006
Daniel Alfredsson (tied with two others for first in playoff scoring) with Ottawa Senators in 2007

Now, moving on to the Cup champions:

1980-1983: Stefan Persson and Anders Kallur, New York Islanders
1982-1983: Tomas Jonsson, Islanders
1984-1985: Willy Lindström, Edmonton Oilers
1986: Mats Näslund and Kjell Dahlin, Montreal Canadiens. Mats, "Le Petit Viking", was the leading scorer for the Canadiens
1987: Kent Nilsson, Oilers
1989: Håkan Loob, Calgary Flames
1991-1992: Ulf Samuelsson, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992: Kjell Samuelsson, Penguins
1995, 2003: Tommy Albelin, New Jersey Devils
1996, 2001: Peter Forsberg, Colorado Avalanche
1997-1998, 2002, 2008: Nicklas Lidström and Tomas Holmström, Detroit Red Wings. In 2002 Nicklas became the first swede to win the Conn Smythe trophy
1997: Tomas Sandström, Red Wings
1998: Anders Eriksson, Red Wings
2002: Fredrik Olausson, Red Wings
2004: Fredrik Modin, Tampa Bay Lightning
2006: Niclas Wallin, Carolina Hurricanes
2007: Samuel Påhlsson, Anaheim Ducks
2008: Henrik Zetterberg, Johan Franzen, Niklas Kronwall, Mikael Samuelsson and Andreas Lilja. Henrik became the second swede to win the Conn Smythe trophy.

Inga kommentarer: